Scouting Life Reflection

Definition of "SCOUT"
[31 March 2009]

If I ask you the definition of "SCOUT", what will be your answer?

Daily turn of good? The Scout sign? Scout Promise and Law? Uniform group? Youth education? Personal development? A progressive training system? Badges and awards? Outdoor programmes? Camping? Foot drilling? Community service? A global movement? World friendship? A game?

May be all above are correct, depending on your perception. There's certainly no definite answer. In a recent occasion I've got a new insight on how to define my "SCOUT" definition. Let's share it with you:

S - Self
C - Contribute
O - Oriented
U - United
T - Trust

Self
Being a scout, we need self-involvement. Besides, building self-understanding, self-essteem, self-responsibility and self-respect are the core values of Scouting. More importantly, you need to be yourself.

Contribute
The vision of Scouting is to make contribution to creating a better world. We're dedicated to take responsibility and contribute to our society as a global citizen.

Oriented
Scouting is a progressive and systematic training for youth members, with ambitions and aspirations in youth development. To achieve the vision and mission of Scouting, we must have the devotion to follow our path to success.

United
Scouting life is a group life. By adopting the patrol or team system in scouting programmes we're motivated to work as a team and realize the importance of teamwork, which strengthening our unity and social adaptability in return.

Trust
The scout promise and law put an emphasis on trust. At the moment you make the scout promise, you show your honour to keep the promise. When we live with the scout law, we always bear in mind that a scout is to be trusted. One person will only be respected if he or she is being trusted. In teamwork members of team also need trust among each other to create a synergy effect for the team. Therefore, a scout cannot live without trusting others and being trusted.


Other Articles

How We Change the World
Changing the World
Jambo
Definition of "SCOUT"
voyager.hk - Inheriting the Scouting Spirit

童心天地

「SCOUT」的定義
[2009年3月27日]

PDF 下載「SCOUT」的定義簡報

如果要你定義「SCOUT」這個字,你會怎樣來作定義?

日行一善?三指記號?誓詞與規律?制服團隊?青少年教育?個人成長?進度性訓練?獎章制度?戶外活動?露營?步操?社區服務?世界性運動?國際友誼?一場遊戲?

可能以上種種定義皆是,無分對錯,但我最近有一個新想法,在此與各位分享:

S - Self
C - Contribute
O - Oriented
U - United
T - Trust

Self 自己
參加童軍,首先要有自己的投入參與(Self-involvement),還要有自我認識(Self-understanding)、自信(Self-esteem)、自我承擔(Self-responsibility)及自我尊重(Self-respect)。還有一點最重要的,就是做回你自己(Be Yourself)。

Contribute 貢獻
世界童軍運動的使命是攜手創造一個更美好的世界(Creating a Better World)。參加童軍的意義就是為社會作出承擔和貢獻。

Oriented 有方向性
童軍是一個有進度性的訓練,它對青少年教育有抱負和理想。參加童軍需要有熱誠,認清楚我們的方向,才能達到童軍運動的使命。

United 團結
童軍運動是一項團體性活動,一個群體生活,它的其中一個特點是在支部中實行小隊制度。它教導我們團隊合作的重要性,也培養了我們的團隊合作精神,提升我們的社會適應力。

Trust 信任
童軍誓詞的開首即要童軍「以信譽為誓」(On my honour),而童軍規律的第一條是「童軍信用為人敬」(A Scout is to be trusted),可以看到童軍運動對個人信用的重視。一個人要得到他人尊重,取決於他的個人信用度;而且,與人合作之間的首要條件也需要隊員之間互相信任,才能產生協同效應。因此,童軍運動與信任(包括信任他人和被他人信任)息息相關,兩者的配合至為重要。


其他文章

不能忘記的日子
我們如何改變這世界
Changing the World
只要願意,就可以做到
Jambo
歷奇教育:對生命的尊重
[一人一故事] 年輕培訓師Jeffrey的故事
「SCOUT」的定義
水運會升旗
voyager.hk - 一個理念的傳承
攜手締造動人的故事
歷奇活動?童軍訓練?
歷奇輔導與童軍訓練的整合